Transkript anzeigen Abspielen Pausieren

Regulations for the awarding of the LWL Innovation Award (Three awards for the promotion of young talent in the fields of literature, music and art) of the Landschaftsverband Westfalen-Lippe (LWL) in the version of February 14, 2022


The Landschaftsverband Westfalen-Lippe (LWL) presents an award to promote young talent called the "LWL Innovation Award" in the three areas of literature, music and art.

The total endowment is 30,000 euros. Each of the three awards is endowed with 10,000 euros.

The award is an award for living personalities who are not older than 35 at the time of nomination and is not publicly announced. Applications are excluded.


The award is presented every five years, alternating with the Annette von Droste Hülshoff Award (LWL Literature Award), the Konrad von Soest Award (LWL Art Award), the Hans Werner Henze Award (LWL Music Award) and the LWL Crossover Award (Award for Interdisciplinary Arts).


The award is presented to young artists for particularly outstanding achievements in the fields of literature, music and art for "innovative formats with contemporary relevance".

The award winners should have a local connection to Westphalia-Lippe. It is irrelevant here whether the place of birth or residence is in Westphalia-Lippe; it is rather a matter of a recognisable connection to the region. The joint award is firmly linked to a presentation in Westphalia-Lippe.


The decision on the awarding of the LWL Innovation Award is made by a jury of experts appointed by the LWL Cultural Committee.


The jury consists of an odd number of members (at least seven).

In each rotation, the jury will include one member from each of the LWL's cooperation partners for the award from

    1. the Center for Literature/the LWL Literature Commission for Westphalia

    2. the network "create music" and

    3. one of the art academies in Westphalia-Lippe

which they nominate.

Further experts from the fields of contemporary and popular music, literature and art, media, teaching, etc. are proposed by the administration and decided by the LWL Culture Committee as jury members. The aim is to achieve the greatest possible diversity and gender parity in the composition of the jury.

Each of the parliamentary groups represented in the LWL Culture Committee send one advisory member to the jury.


The voting seat in the jury is connected with the task to propose two to three suitable candidates and to justify this choice in writing. Cross-sectoral proposals are possible due to the orientation of the award.


The jury meeting is not open to the public. The administration shall convene the meeting. The chair is determined from among the voting members of the jury. The jury has a quorum if at least half of the voting members are present. A digital connection of individual members or a digital session is possible.


The majority of the "yes" votes shall decide over the "no" votes. In the event of a tie, the vote may be repeated. In the event of a new tie, the chairperson shall decide. The decisions of the jury are irrevocable and incontestable.


The award can be given only once to the same person. A joint award is possible. If the jury decides not to award the price, the price money can be used to promote young talent in Westphalia-Lippe.


The ceremonial awarding of all three young talent prices is to be carried out jointly in Westphalia-Lippe.

The awards may be presented by the chairperson of the LWL Regional Assembly and the LWL Director.

The above-mentioned cooperation partners support the administration in the organisation, implementation and press work within the framework of the award ceremony as well as an accompanying program in the region to ensure the Westphalia connection. The involvement of political representatives is an integral part of these follow-up events with the aim of sustainably rooting the award in Westphalia-Lippe.